

Special meeting of the Board of Directors Kent Regional Service Commission

1. CALL TO ORDER

Aldéo Saulnier opens the meeting at 6:37 p.m., welcoming all present.

2. ATTENDANCE

- Aldéo Saulnier, Chairman of the KRSC and Mayor of the Town of Grand-Bouctouche
- Arnold Vautour, Mayor of the Town of Beaurivage
- > Jean Hébert, Mayor of the Rural Community of Beausoleil
- > Jean-Charles Daigle, President of the Kent Rural District
- > Jean-Pierre Richard, Mayor of the Town of Champdoré
- > Jimmy Bourque, Mayor of the Village of Nouvelle-Arcadie
- > Tina Beers, Vice-Chair of the KRSC and Mayor of the Municipality of Five-Rivers

OTHERS

- Paul Lang, CEO KRSC
- Isabelle Godin, Assistant Executive Director KRSC
- Francine Arsenault, Administrative Assistant KRSC (Grand-Bouctouche)
- Marie-Paul Robichaud, Director of Economic Development and Tourism KRSC
- Lynn Landy Caissie, Accountant KRSC
- Yolande Chiasson, Translator (Zoom)
- Members of the public

3. CONFLICT OF INTEREST DECLARATIONS

Nothing to declare.

4. ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA

2023-135

It is moved by Jean-Pierre Richard, seconded by Arnold Vautour, that the agenda be adopted as presented.

Motion carried

5. ELECTIONS OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MEMBERS

WHEREAS the Kent Regional Service Commission has created an economic development committee composed of elected officials and business people;

WHEREAS the Economic Development Committee is composed of a maximum of 2 members of the Board of Directors with stakeholders in the field;

WHEREAS the 2 members of the Board of Directors chosen at this meeting will know the duration of their term following the first meeting of the committee where an election for the Chair of the committee will be held and the determination of the terms of each member;

WHEREAS the Board of Directors may nominate other persons according to the sectors identified in the terms of reference of the committee and that an election would be held for the coveted positions.

2023-136

It was moved by Jean Hébert, seconded by Jimmy Bourque, that nominations for maximum positions on the Economic Development Committee should take place.

Motion carried

Nominations: No nominations in the room.

2023-137

It was moved by Jean Hébert, seconded by Jimmy Bourque, that the nominations cease.

Motion carried

2023-138

Be it therefore resolved that the following persons be appointed to the **Economic Development Committee** for a fixed term at the first meeting of the committee and that their terms of reference be determined as adopted by the Kent Regional Service Commission Board of Directors.

Members of the Kent RSC Board of Directors: Jean-Charles Daigle, Jean-Pierre Richard

Entrepreneur from the agricultural sector: Roger Richard - La Ferme Pouce Vert

Entrepreneur from the fisheries sector:

Entrepreneur from the forestry sector: Mathieu LeBlanc - Acfor

Entrepreneur from the manufacturing sector: Andrée Caissie - Francois Houde - Imperial Manufacturing

Contractor from the construction sector: Jean-Pierre Richard

Entrepreneur from the tourism sector: Rémi LeBlanc - Augerbe Bouctouche

Economic development staff (ex-officio) : Marie-Paul Robichaud Newcomer Integration Coordinator (ex-officio) : Caroline Fontaine

CBDC Kent Executive Director (ex-officio): René Côté

Opportunities NB staff (ex-officio): Donald Hammond/Brigitte Julien

Department of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries staff (ex-officio): Marc King

Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour (ex-officio): Roberta McIntyre/Cynthia

Drysdale

Regional Development Corporation staff (ex-officio): Gilles Cormier

Moved by: Jean Hébert

Seconded by: Jean-Pierre Richard

Motion carried

6. ELECTIONS OF TOURISM COMMITTEE MEMBERS

WHEREAS the Kent Regional Service Commission has created a tourism committee composed of elected officials and tourism business people;

WHEREAS the Tourism Committee is composed of a maximum of 2 members of the Board of Directors with stakeholders in the field;

WHEREAS the 2 members of the Board of Directors chosen at this meeting will know the duration of their term following the first meeting of the committee where an election for the Chair of the committee will be held and the determination of the terms of each member;

WHEREAS the Board of Directors may nominate other persons according to the sectors identified in the terms of reference of the committee and that an election would be held for the coveted positions.

2023-139

It was proposed by Tina Beers, seconded by Arnold Vautour, that nominations for maximum positions on the Tourism Committee should take place.

Motion carried

Nominations: No new nominations.

2023-140

It was moved by Tina Beers, seconded by Jimmy Bourque, that the nominations cease.

Motion carried

2023-141

Be it therefore resolved that the following persons be appointed to the **Tourism Committee** for a fixed term at the first meeting of the committee and that their terms of reference be determined as adopted by the Kent Regional Service Commission Board of Directors.

Members of the Kent RSC Board of Directors: Aldéo Saulnier, Arnold Vautour Entrepreneur from the cultural tourism sector: Monique Poirier Pays de la Sagouine Entrepreneur from other types of attractions: Angèle Miller Creekside RNR Entrepreneur from the accommodation sector: Rémi LeBlanc Auberge Boutouche Staff from the Tourism Development Department (ex-officio): Marie-Paul Robichaud

Staff from Destination South-Est: Ginette Doiron Parks Canada staff (ex-officio) : Mireille Doiron

Opportunities NB staff (ex-officio): Donald Hammond/Brigitte Julien

Department of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries staff (ex-officio): Marc King

Regional Development Corporation staff (ex-officio): Gilles Cormier

Moved by: Tina Beers

Seconded by: Jean-Charles Daigle

Motion carried

7. 2024 KRSC BUDGET PRESENTATION

2023-142

It is moved by Jean-Pierre Richard, seconded by Jimmy Bourque, that the Board of Directors go in camera pursuant to Section 68 (1)c) of the Local Governance Act.

Motion carried

<u>2023-</u>143

It is moved by Jean-Charles Daigle, seconded by Jimmy Bourque, that the meeting of the Board of Directors return to open session.

Motion carried

Lynn Landry Caissie presents the Kent Regional Service Commission's budget for 2024, going through each service/department and providing explanations.

2023-144

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of the Kent Regional Service Commission recommends that the tipping fee be \$119.00 per tonne in 2024, with \$80.00 per tonne for the Southeast Regional Service Commission and \$39.00 for the Kent Regional Service Commission and that the tipping fee for the communities of Elsipogtog and Indian Island be \$240.00 per tonne.

Moved by : Jean-Charles Daigle Seconded by : Jimmy Bourque

Motion carried

2023-145

Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of the Kent Regional Service Commission recommends that the tipping fee be \$10.00 per tonne in 2024 for ICI and \$6.00 per tonne for C&D waste.

Moved by : Arnold Vautour Seconded by : Jean Hébert

Motion carried

2023-146

It is moved by Jimmy Bourque, seconded by Tina Beers, that the Kent Regional Service Commission's Board of directors recommend that the total operating budget of the Kent Regional Service Commission for the calendar year 2024 includes total revenues of \$7,425,703 and total expenditures of \$7,425,703, and that the total capital expenditure budget includes total expenditures of \$716,706.

Motion carried

8. QUESTIONS FROM THE PUBLIC

No questions from the public.

9. CLOSURE OF THE MEETING

2023-147

It is moved by Jean-Pierre Richard, that the adjournment be held at 8:43pm.

CHAIR	Executive Director/Clerk